Book Rant – Glass Sword

Let me just start this by saying that I can never remember the name of this book. It’s just that unmemorable. I only got it because I did read the first one and I thought it would be good to try to keep up with some of the more popular fiction. I had so many issues with the first book by Victoria Aveyard that I don’t know what I was thinking when I gave in and got this book. I am about 200 pages in and I don’t even know how I got that far. It’s so repetitive. The first part of the book was “any one can betray anyone.” Like every other paragraph it just repeated that. Like, I get it. You can stop now. Now I’m on the part where she wishes Kilorn could live a normal life in the stilts in every other paragraph. It gets annoying. Like just say it once and I’ll get it. You don’t need to repeat it every damn chance you get. It’s gotten to the point where I can’t read more than like a page at a time. It’s just so bland. I don’t know how my older brother can like this book. It’s not even “ok.” It’s just blah. I’ll eventually finish this book but I very much doubt it will be anytime soon. I just can’t deal with Mare and her whining.

I feel like this book is barely moving forward and is just repeating steps in the plot in a different way. Oh, look we found one newblood, now let’s look for all the rest in almost the same exact way! No. Just. Take the fight to Maven and be done with it. I can’t stand all this running around not really getting anything done. Let’s not forget the fact that they’re also running from the rebellion because the rebellion betrayed them like almost every other YA. I’m tired of all these rehashed themes. I don’t care how original you try to make it. Do something that makes it truly stand out. Like how different An Ember In the Ashes and The Mortal Instruments series were. They were both pretty damn original compared to Glass Sword which rehashes pretty much themes from every other popular YA books right now. Dystopian. Powerful main protagonist who’s different in some way. Rebellion who’s motives are questionable. Evil dictator or king. 2 love interests for main character. Need I go on? How many different YA books does that sound like? I should honestly just give up on YA, but every so often I do find a good book in there. I don’t know. Oh well.

Leave a comment