Book Review – After You

After You by Jojo Moyes is the sequel story to Me Before You and takes place after the events of Me Before You with Louisa trying to pick up the pieces of her life when she get’s an unexpected visitor and gets into an accident.

I devoured this book, I really did. But I saw a review on Goodreads that I couldn’t help but agree with. After You was not needed. The first book ended well. Tragically. But well. Jojo Moyes could have left well enough alone but she didn’t. The fans wanted more so she gave them more in a truly fanfiction-esque style. Which was probably why I liked it as much as I did. I love reading some good fanfiction. But there was just so much in this book that was extra. The only reason why Lily existed, really, was to move the plot forward and to give Louisa a purpose and a conflict in her life. And while, due to the ending of Me Before You, Will wasn’t in the book at all we were never lacking his presence which I appreciated. A lot. Will was just as much a part of the story as he was at the beginning of the journey, but it also wasn’t the same. The fans flocked to this book because of their need for more Louisa. And Will and while they did get that they also got so much more. All in all, I have mixed feelings about this book. I loved it but i don’t know if it was necessary. I’d give it 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

