Differences In Opinions

Sometimes it amazes me how different people’s opinions can be. My brother thinks The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is really good while I think it’s cliched and over done in teen fantasy. At the same time I love An Ember In the Ashes by Sahaa Tahir while he thinks it’s stupid. At the same time I believe we both have valid reasons for liking one or the other.

Since I already reviewed An Ember In the Ashes I’m not going to spend as much time on it as Red Queen. My brother didn’t like it because, due to the plot of the story, soldiers from the same army were killing each other for a kind of tornement. In the grand scheme of things, it was only a very minimal, an expendable, amount of soldiers. So, in a way I can see where my brother is coming from with it being an uneeded waste of lives and resources but at the same time, it was needed in the grand scheme of things based on the inner network of the politics in the book. It was being controlled by an almost otherworldly force therefore not stupid like my brother thinks.

Now, The Red Queen. The squeal, The Glass Sword, just came out this past Tuesday which is how my brother and I got on this topic in the first place. I found out he was reading it and commented my opinion. I’ll get around to reading The Glass Sword eventually. Probably soon since it’s such a huge thing right now. I don’t think it’s all that great because it’s the same as every other teen book right now. Dystopian with a female protagonist that gets thrown into the eyes of the powerful and becomes a threat to them. There’s even a love triangle, sort of, between the protagonist and the two princes. To me, it’s just another of the same in the teen fantasy section and is a part of the reason why I didn’t want to read An Ember In the Ashes in the first place. 

My brother defends The Read Queen by saying that it’s okay to use clichés as long as it’s in a new way and this book decently does that but in my opinion these clichés are too in your face. If ther e’s going to be clichés in a book I’d rather them be a minuscule part of the main plot or a kind of subplot instead being the entirety of the main plot. That just gets predictable and old. The only thing that saved The Red Queen was the ginormous twist at the end. I. Did not. See that coming! It was brilliant on Aveyard’s part. 

Do any of you have an opinion on the matter? I’d love to hear it if you do. 

2 thoughts on “Differences In Opinions

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I agree with you on red Queen but still love it at the same time. I’ll explain that a bit more haha, I like to read a book and not think of others and when I review I don’t know what other people have read and think, yes after reading so many dystopian YA’s this does fall into the category of “okay” but it also had some new ideas and elements that I haven’t seen before setting it apart from others, if I had picked this up without reading other teen/dystopian reads I would be blown away, so I understand the hype.
    Great post ! Oh and I can’t wait to read Ember in the Ashes! I think it sounds fantastic. 🙂

    Like

    1. I get what you’re saying but at this point I’m tired of YA and their repetitive themes and plots. There are starting to be different and new in YA which is awesome. An Ember In the Ashes is similar in a lot of ways but very different from the majority of YA. And then Nightfall, which is fairly new, was completely different. I was blown away by how different from other YA it was.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

